Owyhee County Jail
Idaho Law gives the County Commissioners the authority to operate a jail. The commissioners give the authority to run the jail to the Sheriff. The first jail was in Silver City. It was later moved to Murphy when the courthouse was moved. In 1992 the new and current jail was built in Murphy.
The records show that the first person to be arrested in Owyhee County was in 1891 for Assault. That prisoner later escaped and a $50.00 reward was put out on him. One of the records only shows that ‘5 Indians’ were arrested but does not show what for. Records show that they served about 8 months time. There were 12 people arrested during 1891. During 2000 there were 308 people arrested in Owyhee County and incarcerated for 4,187 prisoner days. Amazingly there were 7 murderers arrested in the first 5 years of jail operation. In looking over these records and the crimes committed it is safe to say life is a lot safer in Owyhee County now than 100 years ago.
When the current jail was built it was done so with the future in mind. There is room for 40 bunks. Because Owyhee County does not fill all of those, we rent out the beds to other counties and the state of Idaho. Last year I brought over $220,000.00 into the county general fund for rented space. Because of that I can hold Owyhee County prisoners for a fraction of the cost of other counties.
Since the new jail was built, every year we have passed the Jail Inspection requirements for the State of Idaho. These are rules set up by the Idaho Sheriff’s Association to keep the Counties out of litigation, to operate the jails safely and to provide the care that inmates are allowed by law. There are only a few of the Idaho Counties that pass this certification.
Owyhee County employees 5 full time and 1 part time Detention Officers. There are also 5 full time and 1 part time Dispatchers. Because of the design of the jail both the Detention Officer and Dispatcher are running the jail, which is, another cost saving to the County.
Inmate meals are served 3 times a day and the inmates must be offered 2,500 calories a day. Inmates are also allowed to purchase certain commissary items if they have money. Inmates are used to clean, cook and do minor maintenance to the jail. This keeps costs to the county down by not having to hire a cook or custodian.
Jail visiting hours and rules
Tuesday 9-11am 2-4pm 6:30-9pm
Friday — — 6:30-9pm
Saturday 9-11am 2-4pm 6:30-9pm
Sunday 9-11am 2-4pm 6:30-9pm
-Visits are 30 minutes in duration
-No more than 3 visitors per inmate at a time
-Low cut shirts, tank tops, sleeveless tops, short shorts, mini-skirts, and bare midriffs are not allowed
-Cell phones, large bags, purses and recording devices of any kind are also not permitted.
-Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult
-Adults must have a picture ID
-You are only allowed 1 visit per inmate per day
IMPORTANT: If inmates are assigned to Disciplinary Segregation they will not be permitted visits with exceptions for attorney and clergy.
Our physical address is 20381 State Highway 78.
We located at approximately mile post 29.5, Highway 78.
28 miles from Nampa and about 47 miles from Boise.
Inmate mailing address
Owyhee County Jail
PO Box 128
Murphy, ID. 83650
Inmates may receive written letters and standard photographs. Polaroid photographs, stamps, envelopes, and other forwarded items are not allowed. Mail or publications containing images or depictions of sexual situations, nudity or sexual acts are prohibited. In addition, mail cannot contain:
- Glitter or stickers
- Intimidating or harassing statements
- Gang-related writings or drawings
- Plans that violate state, local, federal laws, or jail rules
- Plans to send contraband (such as drugs) in or out of the jail
- Letters from other incarcerated inmates. (Unless approved prior by the Jail Administration.)
At the discretion of jail staff, mail or publications containing unauthorized references or material may be refused, confiscated, placed in the inmate’s property or returned to the sender.
There are two ways to deposit money to an inmate’s account:
- In person – A kiosk at the Owyhee County Sheriff’s Office accepts deposits using cash and Visa/debit cards.
- Online – Visit Telemate to make a secure payment at https://pay.gettingout.com/#/
For more Telemate information or technical support call 1-866-516-0115
You may also bring in or send a money order to the jail.
Checks are not accepted and we do not recommend sending cash thru the mail.
Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA)
What is PREA?
The Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) establishes a zero-tolerance standard against sexual assaults and rapes of inmates.
PREA sets the standard that protects Eighth Amendment rights of federal, state, and local prisoners, making the prevention of sexual assault a top priority. It also increases available data on such acts.
The Owyhee County Sheriff’s Office is committed to a zero-tolerance standard and supports the prosecution of persons who commit acts of sexual misconduct and sexual assault in its facility. The Owyhee County Sheriff’s Office has developed uniform guidelines and procedures to reduce the risk of in-custody sexual assaults and sexual misconduct.
You can learn more about PREA at the National Prison Rape Elimination Commission website. http://nicic.gov/preacommission
PREA Reporting Form
If you were the victim of a sexual assault while in custody, or if you know of an incident that occurred while you were in our facility, we urge you to report it by calling 495-1154 and asking to speak to a jail supervisor. Your anonymity will be protected. If you fail to report an incident, you could be found to have acted with deliberate indifference towards the victim’s health and/or safety. If you file a false report it could result in criminal charges.
All reported incidents will be investigated.
If you have any further questions, please call (208) 495-1154 ext. 102
If you are reporting to the Owyhee County Jail to serve jail time, you must have a picture ID card. We also ask that you bring a copy of your court commit paperwork.
The Owyhee County Jail charges $25 a day for Owyhee County charges or Owyhee County residents with a $500 limit. We ask that you bring jail fees with you when you check in.
Out of county court commits are at the discretion of the jail commander.
Items allowed to be brought to inmates
New tennis type shoes with receipt, no metal parts, and have a white sole.
A maximum of 3 new sports bras, white, have receipt, and in an un-opened package. Bras must not contain any underwire.
A maximum of 3 new boxer shorts (for men), have receipt and in an un-opened package.
A maximum of 3 new pantie briefs (for women), have receipt, and in an un-opened package. Lace or strings are not allowed.
Books must be new, have receipt, and can only be soft cover. No nudity or pornography allowed.