Community Planning

The mission of the Community Planning Department is to provide excellent service to citizens and other interested parties. We understand that navigating zoning codes and ordinances can be overwhelming sometimes, so we are here to help any way we can.

Owyhee County has adopted land use zones to plan for the future of development in our community. Those zones include Agricultural, Commercial, Historic, Industrial, Multiuse, and Residential. Residential zones are where we have planned for higher density residential development. Multiuse zones allow for residential use, commercial uses, and agricultural uses. So, you will find that Residential and Multiuse zones are located closer to public services which is where development will be focused including dwellings with small scale accessory agricultural use. As you may be aware, agriculture is the economic base of Owyhee County, and provides the livelihood of many of our citizens. The Agricultural zone is set aside for large scale working landscapes protected from residential development and other conflicting land uses.

The Community Planning Department has limited staff and we spend a great deal of time meeting with citizens and developers on various projects. So, please call ahead to set up a time to meet with us so that we can be sure to have dedicated time set aside to talk with you about your project or property. Please don’t hesitate to contact us, we look forward to working with you.


Mary Huff, AICP –  Director

Mary Ann Butler – Planner


Planning & Zoning Commission

  • Rich Curtis
  • Scott Jensen – Chair
  • Chad Nettleton – Vice Chair
  • Bob Thomas
  • Dean Young

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets at 17069 Basey St. in Murphy at 9:30 on the 4th Wednesday of each month. Times and dates may be changed due to holidays or commissioner availability. All meetings are open to the public and we welcome your attendance.

Hearing Procedures

2024 Hearing Schedule and Deadlines











Map of Owyhee County

*** Be sure to check mark the box labeled “Zoning” to turn on the zoning layer ***

Administrator, Mary Huff
Mary Huff, AICP
Planning Director

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 128
Murphy, ID 83650

County Annex Building
17069 Basey Street
Murphy, ID 83650

Phone: 208-495-2095 ext. 2

Monday thru Friday