OWYHEE COUNTY COMMISSIONER MINUTES FEBRUARY 11, 2013 OWYHEE COUNTY COURTHOUSE MURPHY, IDAHO

Present were Commissioner's Joe Merrick, Jerry Hoagland, and Kelly Aberasturi, Clerk Charlotte Sherburn, Treasurer Brenda Richards, Sheriff Perry Grant, Assessor Brett Endicott, and Weed Supervisor Craig Whitted.

Commission Chairman Joe Merrick called the meeting to order. Amendments brought forth for consideration were a Memorandum of Understanding and an application for the Juvenile Accountability Block Grant for the Probation Department. Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to amend the agenda, with a second by Commissioner Aberasturi. Motion was unanimous.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion seconded by Commissioner Aberasturi to set the agenda as amended. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the Board Minutes for the February 4th meeting. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion was unanimous.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the request by Road District 1 Supervisor Phil Rittenhouse to authorize the pay for part-time operator David Bowers at \$14.35 per hour on county adopted pay scale. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the request by County Clerk Charlotte Sherburn to increase the salary of Linda Gerthung to \$14.35 due to the fact she will be moving into the deputy auditor position in the Clerk's office, from the magistrate clerk position. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the request by County Clerk Charlotte Sherburn to authorize the pay for part-time employee Debra Marston at \$12.05 per hour on the county adopted pay scale. She will be replacing Linda Gerthung as magistrate court clerk. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the request by Sheriff Perry Grant to pay Luisa Jaca \$14.57 as she will be moving into the civil clerk position at the Sheriff's Department from the deputy auditor position in the Clerk's office. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the request by Sheriff Perry Grant to pay Jessica Ferdinand \$13.67 per hour as a part time dispatcher at the Sheriff's Department. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to go into executive session pursuant to Idaho Code 67-2345(1)(a) for personnel issues. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Aberasturi-aye, Hoagland-aye, Merrick-aye. Motion carried.

After moving out of executive session the Board met with Phil Pickett to discuss upgrades or purchase of a new phone system for the County. Mr. Pickett explained the present system is antiquated and needs to be replaced. The cost of a new phone system with an HX Controller that would simplify communications and enhance productivity is \$15,710. The existing phones would be compatible with the new system. Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the new system. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion was unanimous.

Waterways Committee members Dave Ellis and Brian Flattery met with the Board to discuss repairing the dock in Grand View and at the Black Sands on CJ Strike Reservoir. Dave will get in contact with Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation on the use of boat registration fees to fund the projects.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the Memorandum of Understanding with the Bruneau River Soil and Water Conservation District. The MOU provides Deputy Sheriffs to assist the District Inspectors to perform their duties to inspect all water craft for the presence of quagga and zebra mussels at the Bruneau and Marsing inspection stations. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion was unanimous.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to approve the certificates of residency for the following students attending College of Western Idaho: Christina Delgadillo (partial), David Emery, Connie Miller, Jonathan Williams, Neil Doyle, Robert Malone-Shafer, Kristopher McCoulley, Jose Montes Jr, and Nola Boone. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Aberasturi made a motion to approve the Juvenile Accountability Block Grant application for the Probation Department in the amount of \$5,000. Commissioner Hoagland seconded the motion. Motion was unanimous.

Sands Farrar and Dea Miller came before the Board requesting information on what was required by the County to hold a charity motorcycle rally in the Poison Creek area on June 6th, through June 9th. Suggestions were made on who the group should be contacting for further information.

A coordination meeting was held with the Jarbidge District Bureau of Land Management.

A conference call was held with District 23 Representatives Bert Brackett and Pete Nielsen on legislative issues.

Deputy Belle Evans presented pending Indigent & Charity cases.

I.C. #13-03 a lien was approved on the applicant with a motion by Commissioner Hoagland and seconded by Commissioner Merrick. Motion carried.

I.C. #13-04 a lien was approved on the applicant with a motion by Commissioner Hoagland and a second by Commissioner Aberasturi. Motion carried.

I.C. # 13-05 the applicant was approved for assistance with a motion by Commissioner Hoagland and a second by Commissioner Aberasturi. Motion carried.

I.C. #13-02 the applicant was denied pursuant to Idaho Code 31-3505(4)(b) with a motion by Commissioner Hoagland and a second by Commissioner Aberasturi. Motion carried.

Commissioner Hoagland made a motion to go into executive session pursuant to Idaho Code 67-2345(1)(a) on personnel issues. Commissioner Aberasturi seconded the motion. Motion carried. Aberasturi-aye, Hoagland-aye, Merrick-aye. No action was taken.

After moving out of executive session the Board moved to adjourn.

Dated this 19th day of February 2013.

Joe Merrick, Chairman

Attest:_____ Charlotte Sherburn, Clerk